Commitments and Leases

So, we have learned to treat commitments as debt. Although we should somehow factor these obligations in our analysis, they are just future operating costs… Lets take McDonald’s (MCD), lets say that the CFO decides to commit to a certain number of tomato forwards but decides not to commit to beef forwards. As an analyst I cannot see myself treating one food group as debt. In anycase, its a “soft” operating cost, I cannot understand why I would treat it as debt. Leases are close to this, and my understanding is that we treat them as debt, just to normalize balance sheets and help compare companies, plus, conceptually, they really do look like debt as you receive something today and make payments in the future… But this is where it falls apart for commitments, you don’t receive anything today… Thoughts?

Forward contracts are derivatives and are treated according to FAS 133. In this case, it would be a cash flow hedge because McDonald’s doesn’t own tomatoes (I guess). That means that P/L from the forward is going to flow through to other comprehensive income until they offset it with tomato sales.

Fair point. Lets forget the word forward, and just call them commitments (which are essentially the same). The book dictates that we should treat the commitments as debt, while perhaps we should treat them according to something like FAS 133 in order to create a comparable set of financial statements… My question still stands: why would I want to treat commitments as debt?

johnnyblazini Wrote: > My question still stands: why would I want to > treat commitments as debt? i think that might be a semantics question. do you agree that a commitment should create a liability?