Confessions of an IRS Agent - Long but worth it.

What’s a Nice Kid Like You Doing in a Place Like This? Some kids yearn to be firemen or ballet dancers when they grow up. I’ve yet to meet anybody who wanted to be an IRS man; I was no exception. But when I graduated from college in 1970 the economy was scraping bottom. The job market wasn’t exactly screaming out for B.A.s in political science, so I took the federal civil-service exam, imagining a career at the Department of Housing and Urban Development or Health, Education, and Welfare. After all, the government can’t go out of business, it rarely lays people off and it pays reasonably well. It looked like a secure place in insecure times. I scored high on the exam - over 95 - and waited for the various departments to come knocking on my door. But the only government agency that even nibbled on me was the IRS. My initial interview was not as harrying as some I’ve heard of. (One female applicant once left her IRS interview in tears, never to come back, causing my boss to mutter, “Women aren’t tough enough to work for the IRS.”) My interviewer warned me that the position that was open - revenue officer - would sometimes require me to do distasteful things. Was I man enough to seize the automobile of a broke and delinquent taxpayer? Could I slap a seizure notice on the home of a destitute family? How would I feel about abducting a man’s bank account for payment of back taxes? How did I feel about staring down the shotgun of an irate citizen? While this wasn’t exactly a description of the job of my dreams, I certainly wasn’t opposed to fair and reasonable collection of taxes. I promised myself that I wouldn’t remain a revenue officer for the rest of my life. I figured I’d be able to move up to an administrative post or return to the private sector someday. Besides, I wanted to marry my college sweetheart. I needed the job. I signed on. My planned “short stint” ate up the rest of the seventies. My interviewer was absolu