Confirmation of interest rate volatility vs. changes

Hi guys, I studied Reading 54 today and jotted down some very brief notes. I’d like to put it into my book but just want to ensure it’s accurate (because it’s based on my deductions rather then being directly stated). Can someone please confirm and let me know if all is correct? Thank you! Interest rate VOLATILITY up = Vcall up, Vnoncallable unaffected, therefore Vcallable down While NONcallable bonds are not affected by interest rate volatility, they ARE affected by interest rate changes (inverse relationship). Therefore, as interest rates go up, Vcallable down, Vcall down, Vnoncallable down.

1. Correct 2. Correct 3. Correct
  1. Correct 2. Correct 3. Kinda correct. ------> Interest rates go up, Value callable goes down (because bond prices are inversely related to interest rates AND the value of the call goes up which reduces the callable bond, so you got two things going here), Value call goes up (who owns the call? the issuing company), Value noncallable goes down. Don’t confuse with “volatility” of rates increasing and “interest rates” increasing. These are two different things, but can happen simultaneously. Best in June!

Yes, missed out on Vcall in the 3rd point. Vcall will go up. Totally agree with david.

i asume the call is bond option here. if yes then with int rates up the value of the call goes down. underlying, the bond, goes down, the call option goes down.

okay i see what u are saying. lets go back to put call parity to get value of call option. C = P + S - X/ (1+r) If interest rates go up, last component goes down and C goes up. But with interest rates going up, S the spot price comes down(intrinsic characteristic of the underlying in this case). So, C goes down. since these are contradicting effects, look like we cannot predict the value of embedded call option with interest rate movements then.