Confused about the future

Hello Everyone,

I am quite confused about my current situation. I am currenty enrolled in CFA level 1 June/2013 and I have put in a lot of hours of studying for the exam. I have a degree in Accounting and Finance and I was working as a Business Analyst in the largest Mutual Fund Company of Canada. At that time it made sense to pursue CFA as I liked the material and eventually I wanted to be in Investment Management. Last year I moved from Canada to New York and was unable to find a job in Financial Industry. Currently I am working in telecommunications industry as a Business/Financial Analyst.

The way my career is going is making me question my choice of pursuing CFA. I will definitely appear for level 1 (because of the money and effort I have put in) but I also understand that I can’t get the charter unless I have 4 years of investment management experience.

Does it make sense for me to still pursue it or should I look for MBA programs after finishing level 1?

Any advice is appreciated.

Maybe see if you actually PASS level one first, then worry about what to do. Not to be pesimistic, but 60-70% will NOT pass.

I guess you are right. I should wait and see if I even pass.

NOT having passed all 3-levels will only make you less marketable.

Do you have career goals? What are they? What are you doing to achieve those goals?

It’s foolish to say that you should definitely pursue CFA if your goals are not in alignment. How can anyone else determine what your career goals are? If you are able to determine that yourself, your path towards your goals should be quite clear.

My career goal is to be successful (preferably in Financial Industry). I am 27 and making over $80k right now however I want to study more. I registered for CFA because I liked the material, very few people can do it and unlike MBA it’s quite cheaper.