Confused, What now?

It’s been a year since I graduated and have a job paying 125K in NYC as a Software Engineer. The work is good and I enjoy it, but somewhat 9 to 5. I don’t mind the “ok” pay for a college grad but I find myself debating about what to do from here. Few of my more senior friends who were 2,3 years above me are making 300K+ in total comp but I feel your life is not gonna drastically change with those figures.

Sure, you get to move to a more trendy apartment/neighborhood but I feel many of these “goals” are somewhat illusionary. One reason I initially wanted to do finance was becoming a big business executive and dining with presidents and world leaders and I just don’t see that I’m my current trajectory. The best I can do with my job is to become a Staff Engineer or something at FAANG, and get paid like 700k+ which is fine, but I would be a fly on the wall still.

I know becoming the next Peter Thiel is obviously not easy and almost impossible statistically speaking but that is why I put myself through this pain of college and studying a hard major, any ideas of what to do? I know this may sound like a dumb post, but I would like another perspective on my situation and perhaps some clarity on how should I be looking at my career/life.

It is normal to struggle to adjust into adulthood and the stability of a career. In reality you did “the pain of college and studying a hard major” to make $120k on a 9-5. That’s where that sort of ticket punching gets you and that is a fortunate result given the 10’s of millions virtually indistinguishable from you from a resume and skills standpoint. If you mismanage this and find yourself out of work and career you may regain perspective there. Your goals seem a little shallow and immature to be honest with a naïve view of what that life would entail and I doubt even if you achieved them you’d find what you are looking for.