Considering the CFA

Greetings,

So I have been browing this forum when I have had some free time because I am considering going for the CFA. I have tried using the search function, and while very helpful, I still was hoping to get some input regarding my specific situation. So I apologize in advance if this thread has been created a million times in the past.

If my backround info matters, I currently work as a stockbroker. I know the position sort of has a bad rep around here but imo the experience is useful. Anyways, I want to become a CFA candidate for a variety of reasons, mainly because I am interested in equity valuation and financial markets in general. I graduated college with a BA in Finance a little over a year ago.

I have decided that it is simply too late for me to start studying for the upcoming December exam. So I am looking at the June 2016 exam, and I am just wondering when do you think it is a good time to start studying. I am worried that it may backfire if I start immediately, but I still figure I may as well start early. Does anyone have any general recommendations? I enjoy reading/studying, and I am not productive with my free time anyhow. If it matters I plan on using Schweser and the occasional source material.

Thank you

Most people don’t start studying for the December Level I exam until at least July, so it’s definitely not too late today.

Tomorrow, of course, will be too late.

As for starting to study for June: I’ve never understood people who say that you don’t want to start too early. As far as I’m concerned, there is no too early. The earlier you start, the better.

I agree with S2000 that its definitely not too late to start studying for the December exam, especially if you have just recently completed a BA in Finance.

Not even close to being “too late”…Just use your time between now and then productively and you have more than enough time.

If you hit it moderately hard for level 1 from 1st September you will be fine.