Consulting --> Banking (advice for a pre-MBA)

The members here seem really sharp, and so I wanted to ask everyone’s advice on a career-related question. I’m a consultant looking to transition into a career in banking/investing, and I have a few options in front of me. I graduated from a top-25 university (class of '05), and for the last 2.5 years I’ve worked with a top-10 global consulting firm. Most of the work I do is focused on the internet/e-commerce space for Fortune 100 clients. I have a lot of experience with business analysis, project management, strategy consulting, internet technology, online advertising, etc. I was a liberal-arts double major in college, although I got A’s in all my accounting, statistics, math and science courses. During my first year in consulting I was a top-ranked analyst and received an early promotion and more responsibility. But despite all the success, I’ve reached a glass ceiling, and I’m now seeing value of learning more about finance and adding those skills to my technology, operations, and consulting skills. I’d also like to work in a faster-paced environment that rewards high performance. In 10 years I’d like to be in a position where I am buying and selling businesses, and perhaps even running my own hedge fund or PE firm. Here are a few options I have moving forward, although I’d like everyone’s feedback since there might be others: a) take the GMAT, get into a top b-school in the Fall of 2009 and decide from there. b) transition from consulting to a pre-mba role at a BB bank for 2 years, and go into b-school with stronger work experience (and thus stronger potential for job prospects) c) transition into a pre-mba finance role at a smaller firm (i.e. fund of funds, boutique m&a, etc.) for 2 years and then go to b-school. d) work at a PE or VC firm for 2 years before b-school. NOTE: I’ve interviewed with several over the last year and my lack of banking experience has put me at a disadvantage (even at early/growth stage fir