Consulting

I see a lot of folks on here looking for jobs, mostly unsuccessfully. Most seem to want to get into asset management or IB. Both are great, but not exactly hiring every warm body they can. I work for a top 4 (by AUM) investment consulting firm and am always surprised why more folks don’t consider this path. I wanted to share a few reasons some of you searching for jobs should consider consulting as a viable option. 1. As a consultant, I work with folks in a myriad of different investment roles. I have contacts at >50 different asset management firms, 5 large investment banks, all 4 of the big accounting firms, and a whole bunch of actuaries. Additionally, through work with clients, I have contacts at several fortune 500 companies and a lot of big pension funds. Why do I mention this? I’m not certain I want to do consulting forever. But I know that if I ever want to do something different, I have contacts in several different investment fields to at least send my resume to. Not all of them could or would help, but I’d wager this approach is far more likely to help me switch fields than just sending resumes out in the dark. 2. There is opportunity for a good bit of travel, and I play golf with clients/managers at least 4 times a month. This is great for breaking up the monotony of being in the office, but obviously not for everybody. 3. I only work about 50 hours a week. Peaks around 60 a couple of weeks a quarter. 4. The pay is good, but not outstanding. I bring home a decent 6 figure salary. Drawbacks 1. I don’t get to use hard core CFA stuff as much as some of you do. That doesn’t bother me but some on here might not feel intellectually fulfilled. 2. It’s not a job for folks who are socially awkward. You do have to feel confident talking to clients and socializing with people you don’t know well. 3. Pay is not as good starting off, but can be excellent if you do well and can bring in some clients. 4. It’s a profession that often values gray hair. Some c