Credit Analyst - is CFA right for me?

Hi, First a bit of background… I currently work as a credit analyst for a small international bank in London. I currently look at mostly financial institutions and some corporates, typically in emerging markets. I have an undergraduate degree in a non-financial discipline but have passed the ACIB Bsc Financial Services. I’ve worked in corporate banking for about 7 years mostly in the relationship management both in the UK and Australia. This is the first ‘pure’ credit role I’ve had and I’m quite enjoying myself (so far!) I’d like to progress up the career ladder and move into looking at more complex corporate deals at a larger bank with the ultimate aim of perhaps doing syndicated deal origination. I have time on my hands as my current role is not too demanding time-wise and I’m thinking of taking the June 07 CFA Level 1 exam. I have a few questions about it and would appreciate any opinions anybody here has. 1. I’m in London and intend to work either here or in the Far East - is CFA suitable or is it more geared toward the US market? 2. I never have been involved in equities, bonds, portfolio management or securities analysis and I don’t really intend to go in that direction (although you never know). As a help to a career in corporate credit analysis is CFA worth the time / effort ? 3. I have a degree in Financial Services (‘just’ the ACIB mind you) and a fair bit of experience in corporate and FI analysis - question for UK graduates…where would you place the CFA in terms of level of difficulty? At the moment I’m 75% convinved but it’s unlikely my current employers will throw in any cash so I want to be pretty certain before signing up. Thanks in advance.

The CFA is very relevant to a credit analyst, and you should have a fundamental understanding of bonds and equities to be a superior credit analyst, IMHO.