credit analyst

Hello, I’m a recent grad from the University of Waterloo (actuarial science and finance). Though I’ve missed the recruiting season, I’m in a job search looking to get a credit analyst (loan syndication, origination, credit facilities, etc.) position at one of the banks. I saw some posts by “nyami 23” discussing a similar job that I’ve applied to. “nyami 23” if you could be kind enough to post here about what factors led to your success in obtaining a position. It seems that I have the skills and attributes that the recruiters are looking for, but I’m not having much success in getting interviews. Any suggestions or advice would appreciated.

Is that the same thing as a loan officer position? I’ve seen one person with a loan officer title and another with a credit analyst position, and they seemed to be doing the same job.

its not a loan officer position. its in the credit departement - providing loans and related products to companies (revolving credit, etc.) I can post the job description if it helps…

Mike, I currently work in a specialized industry group at a bank as a credit analyst where we primarily participate in loan syndications. I was able to break into this area by preparing a research report on a publicly-traded company and submitting it with my resume. Let me know if you have any other questions.