Credit Risk to Corporate Banking

I’m currently a 3rd year analyst in credit risk covering FIG at a large investment bank (worked in investment management for 2 year and moved to credit risk last year). My group is involoved in credit analysis of FIG clients, assessing creditworthiness, structuring lending transactions and approving trading lines for derivative activity. I have an interview for an associate position in FIG corporate banking at another investment bank and basically the role would be to market the bank’s diff products including capital markets products, FX, treasury management, private placements, hedges and derivatives etc. There is some modeling required to understand the capital structure of the company when analyzing loan transactions. My long term goal is to be in a credit investment or an investment banking role but I’ve found it very difficult to move from credit to IBK, even internally. My questions are: 1) How hard is it to move to IBK from a corporate banking role? IBK and corp banking mostly work with the same clients and corp banking communicates with syndication and DCM on a regular basis. 2) Would this be a good move or should I stay in credit risk, get promoted to associate hopefully next year and try to find something else at that point with more experience under my belt? 3) What is the salary/bonus at the associate level in corp banking? Thanks.

Don’t go into Corporate Banking. It is nothing like Investment Banking – all aspects (money, culture, substance of the work) are worse.

I know, i’m not comparing IB to CB. I’m just wondering if it’s easier to move to IB after a couple of years in CB compared to credit. My job right now isn’t that great and I don’t think i’m learning much so I’m trying to move out.