Currency Hedging

So I bought the Wisdown Tree Hedged Japan ETF after Abe was elected about a year ago. Now that the general rally is over (I believe) I’d like to buy a couple of stocks I believe are set to outperform, but I’m not sure how to hedge the currency in my PA. I haven’t reviewed this stuff since my CFA days.

Is it possible to currency hedge a relatively small JPY position to USD? What about if I want to hedge a more volatile currency, the Rupiah for instance? This is in a personal account and the investment amound is in thousands, so would costs be exorbitant?

Who is your broker? I’m guessing this will be difficult in a retail account but I’ve never tried to hedge my PA before.

My experience with hedging foreign-currency denominated stocks is limited but I did look into this a few years ago with Japanese stocks in an institutional account. The firm I used to work at primes with GS and they recommended short duration forwards to create a rolling hedge, which is a very inexpensive method. I don’t know if that’s the best approach. The difficulty is the asset values of the underlying move, so the hedge needs to be short-term if you want to minimize basis risk.

Why Japan?

It’s really a defensive hedge. The combination of continuing easy money in Japan and Fed tapering sometime next year could reinvigorate the USD/JPY rise. It’s been a big move over the last year, but took a bit of a pause in May. For a lot of US domiciled investors in Japan over the last year, currency depreciation eroded half their return. I’m seeking to avoid the second act of that. I also think the general rally in Japan may be long in the tooth, and now it is time to take the rifle off the shelf and put away the shotgun; thus, I’m looking at hedging specific stock positions.