Dec. 2009: Viable Study Plan??

I started studying in May 2009 for the December exam (Level I obviously). Now, I wish I had started earlier. For the record, I am not married, no kids so can structure my time as needed. I do have a FT job (at least for now). Now that we are in June I am trying to formulate a disciplined plan. I probably should have given this more thought a month ago. There are 74 readings/chapters in the CFA Institute’s materials. To date I have completed 8 chapters/readings & completed the review questions for each chapter (all in FSA which is an area of weakness for me). The CFA Institute suggests leaving 4 to 6 weeks for practice tests/review before the exam. My goal is to be through ALL the CFAI materials by Oct. 9th so that I have a FULL 8 weeks for practice exams/review. So that ONLY leaves 66 chapters/readings to complete by Oct. 9th! There are 129 days until Oct. 9th. So I will have to complete about ONE chapter/reading every 2 days. Obviously, I’ll take some days off and have to double up on weekends to make up for days I take off. Does this sound like a viable plan???

Some readings are longer than others, but it seems like a fine average - aim for a study session per week.

I would take two weeks off the final study review time and structure periodic reviews during your initial study. If you have reviewed something that was refreshed during the course of study, it will likely help consolidate the information. Spending time to review what you’ve learned every month will pay off when it comes to final exam study imo. My advice is to plan for an additional month-end 2 or 3 day review session of the readings you’ve done. Otherwise, what you’ve planned seems doable. You might also want to consider a prep provider - the CFAI readings can sometimes be too lengthy.