Decision between CFA and FRM

Hi everyone,

I am new to AF. I would like to get some inputs regarding CFA and FRM.

I have worked in the banking industry for about 10 years, but my speciality is in process re-engineering and continuous improvement. I haven’t really worked in any finance or investment related position. My education background is BA in Economics and HRM. I also have courses in financial planning as well.

I am interested in changing my career to one of the three areas: portfolio management, risk management or performance measurement. My questions for all of you are as follow:

1. Based on my limited working experiences and education background in finance and investment, what would be a better designation for me to pursue?

2. Which would be easier to handle? I know both designations are very challenging and I am not trying to find something easy. I just want to find something that is easier to start with.

3. Or can you recommend any other internationally recognized designation in these areas? (not CA, CPA or CMA)

Thank you very much for your inputs!

always cfa first. nobody knows what frm is…

Matt, good to see back and posting.

FRM is meant to be a lot easier. I’m not sure how much value the designation would have without experience though. The people I know who have FRM have it as a compliment to their experience in Markets Risk.

This is a CFA centric board, so I think you’re going to get a biased view towards CFA.

You mentioned you wanted to get into portfolio management, risk management or performance measurement. Each one of these has it’s own designation with exams (CFA, FRM, and CIPM), so maybe choose which it is you want to get into and go from there.

Personally I don’t think you can go wrong with CFA in terms of it helping with your career ambitions. I think what you need to consider is whether you’re willing to commit to a gruelling program of study whose eventual benefits are uncertain.