Deferred Tax Assets/Liabilities

All,

I have a quick question - if DTA increases, how is the accounting equation (A = L + OE) balanced? Does Liabilities go up, or OE?

Similarly, if DTL increase, how is this balanced?

I am sorry if this is a basic question. I am a beginner, and hence I thought of asking this question.

Thanks in advance.

It’s usually partially an increase in equity and partially a decrease in cash.

A DTA arises because you will have lower taxes in the future, usually because you have higher taxes today. Higher taxes today means that cash is lower, but it also means that income is higher, so equity is higher (through retained earnings). So the balance is that DTA increases, cash decreases some, equity increases some stays the same, liabilities stay the same.

Similarly, a DTL arises because you will have higher taxes in the future, usually because you have lower taxes today. That means lower income today, so lower equity (through retained earnings), but higher cash. So assets increasse some, liabilities increase (the DTL), and equity decreases some.

No need to apologize: DTAs and DTLs cause problems for a lot of candidates. I wrote an article covering some info on DTAs and DTLs: http://financialexamhelp123.com/dtas-and-dtls-how-to-keep-them-straight/. Maybe I should expand it a bit to include answers to this sortof question.

You’re welcome in arrears.

Thanks S2000magician!

Hello S2000magician,

I have another follow-up question. (It just struck me.)

I got your explanation. However, how will I know how much increase in equity and how much decrease in cash will cause this? Example – let’s say DTL =$20K. was caused by different depreciation methods used by IRS and GAAP. How will $20K balance out ? I am curious. Any tips?

Thanks in advance.

You’re welcome.

Howdy.