Deferred Tax in Balance Sheet

Dear all, Wishing you a very prosperous New Year. I am a CFA newbie and started with my Level 1 exam in Dec.'08. Recently, i am studying the Balance Sheet and its components. I get very confuse of deferred tax when it is in both assets and long-term liabilities. Obviously, in the long-term liabilities deferred taxes are the cumulative difference between what the income statement has reported as income taxes and what the company has paid in taxes, the difference usually arises because of differences between the accounting methods used for financial reporting and tax filing. But, in assets there is any explain what deferred tax is included? Could u pls kindly make it clear the difference between deferred taxes in assets column and liabilities column? And how to calculate them each case? Thank you very much!