Did you learn anything in your MBA?

The courses seem pretty straightforward. Was it all just networking? I recently met someone out of the field who got their MBA for entrepreneurship reasons and now has several companies and a book as well as being the COO of a NYC hospital. Maybe it is worth more to people outside the field with no business experience?

I did, but that’s because my undergrad was in Espanol. When I started B-school, I had never taken a single business course in my life.

And I also had to take a lot of undergrad coursework as well, because I found that I was severely lacking in a lot of skills, such as statistics, basic math, etc. So I took Stats 101, Econ 101, Algebra/Calculus (one class that somehow combined the two together–still don’t remember anything about the calc part), Microsoft Office 101, etc. (Yes–I was taking all these classes at 28 and 29 years old.)

Why did you major in Spanish?

That’s just crazy!

Si, esta loco.

I majored in Spanish as well, among other things.

Ive heard they are pretty useless if you have an undergrad in business (aside from the networking opportunities)

Most people who get one that I have seen are either super high performers or want to make a career switch.

que paso, cholo

Wait a minute, most courses on an MBA program can be learned online for almost zero compared to an MBA cost.You can also throw out the useless sections, you can actually learn alot more if you are a self learner.If I were to do it, network and Brand would be my only reasons. I would much rather do grad school in a hard science like Math/CS than some thing like business if learning stuff was the desired outcome.Those are things that should be taught at school.