Difficulty level for CPA holder

Hi

I am new to this forum. I have passed CPA in Feb 2011, now I intend to go for CFA course

Appreciate, if some one guide that, it would be how difficult for CPA’s to pursue CFA

Thanks

CFA Level I isn’t too bad. It’s mostly a review of most business courses like Economics, Finance, Statistics, Accounting. There are some new things a pure accounting background might not cover like Alternative Investments, Fixed Income, and some more advanced finance and accounting topics. Mostly the Level I exam is just a ton of material. I’m studying for Level II now and lots of is new. So any advantage your CPA background might give you will be probably be gone after the first exam. Speaking as someone with an accounting background and halfway through the CPA exams…

Actually, Level II has more accounting in it, so you’ll probably get some benefit there too.

It’s similar to CPA in terms of level of effort required, but the substance and the orientation is different. The accounting stuff will help you at L1 and to some extent at L2, but you have to remember that accountants tend to look at financial statements in terms of whether they accurately reflect the past, and financial analysts look at them in terms of what they indicate about the future. It’s a different perspective, and it means that things that have to be done a certain way for audit and legal reasons don’t have to be done the same way for analysis reasons. In fact, a certain amount of stuff is actually about undoing what the legalities are in order to get a better picture of the economic reality of the firm. If you take a forensic accounting approach, you get more closely into the financial mindset, in terms of trying to figure out if things have been arranged to hide stuff or deemphasize things.