Dilemma

I am in a precarious situation, and I’d appreciate your guys’ opinion. I work for a major bank and I am an analyst in a two year investment management training program that ends on the 31st this month. Last week I was invited to interview for a broader mini-mba type program designed for a select few that perform well in their 2 year analyst programs. I’ve been hoping to get into this program for the last year. I was actually rejected in the second round the first time i applied 6 months ago. This mini-mba deal is pretty sick…you spend 8 months in an awesome city… paid corporate housing, spending time doing 2-week case studies. Overall it is designed to give you an awesome training in banking (all types, corporate, commercial, investment). Plus you get really tight with your class and make lifelong friends blah blah…(i only weigh that in because a lot of these kids have a high likely hood of becoming really successful people that you can network with in the future). Finally, at the end of your term, you get to choose from awesome jobs…sounds like a good gig right? Here is where my dilemma comes in. I was offered a job with a small investment bank in town where I live. It isn’t a bulge bracket, but I would be getting experience with everything that one might encounter in a coverage and products group like in a goldman, or jp. The actual $ pay is pretty good, higher than the mini-mba if you conservatively estimate the bonus. I also really believe in this position and think it would be awesome too… The problem-- I have til friday to decide, the other interview isn’t until the end of this month. I’m getting pressure because there were supposedly a lot of applicants and they need to fill the spot. So negotiating later decision date is not possible. I would have to turn down the job if I wanted to show up for my interview for the mini-mba prog. I know there’s lots of other info you guys would need to give me a full opinion, but based on what I’ve told you what wou