Dlemna

I have been looking for a stable FT work for 12 months. Been brutal. I was recommended for a position that is with a firm that is a nobody on the street in what I want to do…but it is a start…and I need the cash. Since nothing else has been on the horizon, I figured it is better than sitting around. I think I will be offered the position in a week or two. Figure I can say there and re-think the situation when things get better and I have some marketable experience… However, today I was asked to interview next week for a similar position with a firm I would love to work for, and that has a good reputation in the niche I want to be in. Plus it is a much bigger firm with better internal domestic/foreign advancement potential. My dilemma is this, if I am offered the lesser desired position before I get a chance to interview for the second position, I guess I will have to give them a decision soon. However, if I do accept, then interview with the second firm and offered a position, would it be considered un professional to leave that soon? I would feel better if I told the 1st firm that I had to decline b/c I am currently interviewing other places for a more suitable position, but I need the $$ and have no idea if the other job will come through…it has been a long year and not sure when the next sure thing will come again… Thanks for any input.

Let the second firm know, and see if they can expedite the process for you By the way, what is the position?

I wouldn’t tell anybody. And I wouldn’t ever show up my current job on my CV if I were not sure that I’d stay around for at least 6 months. Just go take up the job, keep interviewing and leave the job if you get through (citing family reasons). Let them consider it unprofessional if they want to. Letting either party know might hurt you - why take chances?