Do I have a chance?

Honest opinions are needed here. Prior to 2005, I had been working in financial services for the last ten years, mostly middle market sales and trading. I left the business three years ago to pursue life in Corporate Treasury. The job is pretty cushy, good quality of life, great pay, etc. I manage the balance sheet cash, advise of the retirement plans and help define the investment strategy for the firm. I graduated with my MBA in 2003, and took level 1 in 2005 to no avail. Seeing as it has been some time since school, and I’ve since gotten married and have two small kids, am I kidding myself thinking I can do this? Having done it once, I know the time commitment required. I’ve talked it over with the wife, and she rolls her eyes at me every time I bring it up, but is supportive. I’ve been thinking about going back to school to take an accounting and statistics course to brush up on the material before diving back in. Any advice would be much appreciated. Cheers!

I think you can do it but at what cost are you willing to pay. Not in dollars but quality of life at home? Would it change your career any or is it more for self? I would not put my family between the two but if your wife is supportive… dust those books off. Good luck.

Let’s see. How long does it take to play 18 holes? This may not be a choice between family and CFA…

I wish it was that easy. My golf game has been going down hill for a couple of years. I’m actually working more hours now that when I was on the sell side. It’s just a different kind of work and pace. The big challenge will be managing family time. I’m sure that there are people here that are doing it, but with young children I’m dead by 9pm and that doesn’t leave much time for study. I’m planning on taking a couple of courses at the local university to test the waters. If the wife can deal with class/study, I think I’ll give it a shot.