Do I have a future in finance?

I’m just trying to figure out where I stand in terms of landing a job in finance. My Background: I have an MBA in Finance from a local school in NY. I have been working in sales for the last few years. It is for a small family company so I take on a lot more responsibility than a regular sales job. I plan to study for the CFA for Dec. 2008. I have no finance experience to date. I am 27 years old and I am hoping its not late to get some type of analyst job and work my way up. I follow the markets and have a pretty good understanding of the way things work. I also know that it’s extremely competitive out there. I would have left a while ago but family pressure kept me at my current job. I live in the metro-NY area. I would love to get a job as a SS or BS analyst. Then work my way up from there. I know there are tons of people with far better backgrounds than me out there, but this is something I really want. If you have any comments/advice I would appreciate it.

I was 35 when I got my first analyst job. Edit: Geez 27, too old? I was still in school at 27 working for the Navy to pay my bills. You’re a youngster.

What about a 22yr old? I’d figure if im 22 now… i will get a finance job somewhere down my lifetime…

ancientmtk Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > What about a 22yr old? I’d figure if im 22 now… > i will get a finance job somewhere down my > lifetime… I’m in the same boat…there are alot of under 25’s on this board in similar shoes actually

ancientmtk Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > What about a 22yr old? I’d figure if im 22 now… > i will get a finance job somewhere down my > lifetime… I’m afraid not. If you didn’t get a finance job by the time you’re 21 years and 364 days old, you’re doomed for life.