Do I need a fancy calculator for L1?

By “fancy” I mean the ones that are specified on the CFA website (TI BA II+, HP 12C) I started studying about a week ago… The reason I’m asking is because a lot of problems I can solve fairly easily with a $5 scientific calculator, but for a lot of problems, like for example finding the IRR for a series of uneven cash payments, you will end up having to solve a fourth or fifth degree polynomial and I can’t afford the time to be doing that by hand during the exam. Is a BA II+ / 12C calculator pretty much a must-have for the exam? Or will they not give you the type of problems that can only be solved with a financial calculator? Thanks, P.S. Here is the one I am using right now http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/archive/4/48/20050911184332!TI-30Xa_Solar.jpg

The only calculators allowed are the TI and HP. You can’t even use a $1 calculator.

I think you should definitely bring a $5 calculator on test day…then promptly sign up for level I again.

Just white-out the “30Xa Solar” and write “BA-II” in neat handwriting. They usually don’t check that closely.

BosyBillups Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > The only calculators allowed are the TI and HP. > You can’t even use a $1 calculator. ohh damn… I didn’t realize you must only bring one of those two models… thanks

Yea, no worries. You will probably use it 5 - 10 times according to people who have taken the exam, but still, get familiar with one of them.