Do I read too slowly

I am registered for Level 1 in June. My approach was to use CFA1 materials exclusively. However, I am wondering if I simply read too slowly and may not be able to cover all the material before the exam. I’ve recently started keeping track of my start date and finish date for sections so I can guesstimate the rate at which I can cover the material. Example: I started the FRA section on Inventory (which I did find more challenging than any of the preceding material in FRA) on Dec 1 and finished it Dec 7 but am now only halfway thru the questions. I started studying in August and have read all of Quant and the 2013 book on Fixed Income (which has of course been changed for '14–just my luck!!). I really do enjoy reading the CFA materials as I feel they are beautifully written as opposed to just using outlines etc. Bear in mind like all of you here I have a full time (non finance related ) job and a family. Thanks in advance for any comments and suggestions!!

Chip

It’s designed to spend no more than a week per study session to give you a month of mocks and review. Keep in mind you’ll have to go back and re-read most of it, but it does go faster the second time. I work in research and thus work very long hours, my answer to the issue of time was getting up two hours early, studying during lunch, and then several hours after work. I also gave up most of my free time on the weekends. I read both CFAI for ethics, quant, FRA. and alternative investments in addition to Kaplan. I’d go and buy Kaplan if I was you.

I suggest you to watch videos on youtube and take note as you watch before jumping into text. Trust me, this will give you an overview of what they are gonna tell you in the book. With this strategy, I covered 3-4 readings in the curriculum per week including working with EOC quesions and Qbank (I have a full time job too). If you travel to work by metro or bus, you can spend time watching videos on the way.