Do you guys think a senior college student should know how to use the Bloomberg Terminal?

I am a Senior undergraduate student.

I am looking for a job after my graduation.

I have high interest in Research and Asset areas.

Also, I am a candidate for CFA lv.1

I am not sure if a certification of the Bloomberg Terminal can boost my value in the job market.

it’s an extra berry on the cake, but it won’t be the reason you get the job

It’s not gonna hurt you, but I had no idea what a Bloomberg terminal was when I was 25.

“Do you guys think a senior college student should know how to use the Bloomberg Terminal?”

No.

No

It is not much appreciated but if you wanted to learn anything its not bad.

I spent several hours on the Bloomberg Terminal so I could get Equity and Fixed Income certified so that I could have a leg up on the competition.

Since I got my certification, I have spent exactly zero minutes on it. And there is no employer that I have ever applied to that cares about it (or even knows what it is).

I don’t think it will help your resume much, but if it comes out in an interview that you already know how to use a machine that they have in their office, that can give you a little extra shine with your interviewer, because they may not be expecting it.

Also, if you want to do some research that requires historical data, and then circulate it as a sample of your abilities, bloomberg is a good source for it. Can’t hurt to know how to get it, but that is a different thing from getting certified so it can be on your resume.

I say do it. The few hours of knowledge may not be a huge step up but curiousity and enthusiasm for the field sure does. Why not?