Does an undergrad degree matter if your taking the CFA?

Hey all, I am graduating with a B.A. in Philosophy this year. I have a little bit of experience in finance ( I was a licensed broker at a mid-level firm for about 9 months on Wall St. but quit because it was conflicting with my school schedule ). I have just over 10 months to study for my Cfa Level I so I think that is enough time to be able to pass it. My question is the following: Do you guys think it is necessary for me to get another undergrad degree in finance in order for me to have a) a better understanding of the industry and help me with my trade and b) to help me get a job. Or should I just focus on my CFA and not even bother with anymore undergrad school work… Thanks for all the input as always!

NO WAY

storko, no way to option 1 and just focus on the CFA?

I’m probably in the minority, but I think someone with a non-finance degree + CFA progress is actually a more attractive candidate. CFA stuff tells me you know a little about valuation and portfolio management, and the Philosophy BA tells me you know how to think critically. It’s pretty important in analysis to be able to break away from consensus thinking when appropriate, and Philosophy is actually a pretty good subject to develop those logic and alternative framework skills. So don’t sell yourself short just because you didn’t get a finance degree. I teach an undergrad investments course and there’s no way I’m going to be able to get even through a L1 level of understanding with them in just a semester. You might want to do something that communicates quantitative abilities, however. If you are not a mathy type person, you might take a probability or statistics course at a community college or continuing education program. That’s probably more important than a finance undergrad.

Level 1 + Parts of Level 2 = Undergrad finance degree If you complete the CFA program, you have more than covered what undergrads studied to obtain their degree.