Does CFAI underestimate the time needed to study?

They suggest 18 weeks, 15 hours? ~ 270 hours. what do you guys think?

Totally but I guess they also assume that most of the test takers are working in financial industry (research, port manager etc) and know some of the stuff already.

270 a week

For L3 I think I will be well above the 250 hour mark but that is because I cant stomach the thought of failing

gross under-estimation … atleast 400 - 450 hrs

CFAI claims that those who pass on average spend 300 hrs with the books! I have heard of one who spent 900 hrs…not try beating that

CFAI claims that those who pass on average spend 300 hrs with the books! I have heard of one who spent 900 hrs…now try beating that

Yes definately - I think the average would be closer to 400 hrs. Some of us (like me) need even more…

I studied about 170hrs last year and failed band 10 and so far have put in bout 70hrs this year hoping to get my hours to 200hrs this year so another 130 hrs in the next 44 days. I think it all depends on effectiveness of your studies and your background. You can study 1,000 hours and fail if you are not doing effective studying and have no background in the material!

yeah I think that’s an underestimation - considering that fact that a practice exam takes ~ 6 hours to complete plus another ~ 2-4 hours correcting/reviewing. So you could probably spend close to 100 hours just on practice tests.

For 1 and 2 it was about 400 hours for me… I expect about the same for level 3