Economist - CFA

Good evening,

I am a graduate economist and currently, I am thinking about what to do next. I graduated about two years ago and currently, I am working but not in a related field. Also, I do have a poor background in maths, statistics and especially econometrics. As a result, I believe that it would be impossible for me to pursue a masters degree in finance or economics. If I try persuing cfa what are the odds for me to be a charter holder?

Thanks for your time.

that would heavily depend on how much time and effort you are willing to put to learn the material. you don’t need a strong background in mathematics: many problems in level 1 and 2 don’t even require Calculus, at least judging from the threads i have seen (level 3 may be another story though). you might need to know Calculus to understand how to derive some of the formulas, but not to use it. in fact, for the time value of money problems, you can typically solve them fairly quickly with a ba ii plus calculator (though i would strongly recommend learning the material and not rely too much on your calculator). also, math problems is only a small portion of the entire exam (i’m not implying you can do badly in the math portion just to be clear)

I still remember the horrid year I spent as an economics major: we still had to take econometrics and I do remember looking at linear regression, confidence intervals, t-curve and normal distribution; there was not a stitch of time value of money math. Did you not have something similar?

I agree that you do not require calculus. It only came in handy to understand some things like bond duration and convexity, option greeks, etc.

Thank you for the quick replies.

It is good to know that I can cope with level 1 and 2 but what about level 3? Also,I am thinking of applying for the optional core elements both in Financial Reporting and Financial Mathematics from Kaplan. Do you think that these would help me?