Edward Jones

Has or is anybody working for Edward Jones? I am in need of some guidence with my career options. I am 24 and currently working as a staff accountant. I have a finance degree and desperatly want to begin a career in that field. Any advice?

Bad idea. Very very very bad idea.

It’s not bad if you want to learn how to rollover someone’s IRA.

ctay61983 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Has or is anybody working for Edward Jones? I am > in need of some guidence with my career options. I > am 24 and currently working as a staff accountant. > I have a finance degree and desperatly want to > begin a career in that field. Any advice? This guys are very aggressive in their recruiting tactics. Almost as bad as Enterprise Rent-A-Car. Don’t take this job. It’s the bottom of the bottom of the finance barrel. It’s mainly cold calling.

One would work here as a financial advisor promoting Edward Jones’ propietary products. The small offices are located in cities, suburbs and so forth. The advisor is suppose to go door to door meeting and greeting the community in attempt to generate business. One can see that the majority of the job would entail customer service and sales skills; very little ‘personal’ advice will be given. The updside financial gain is almost unlimited if you are good at selling, but 80% of people earn a simple living in sales 20% make a great living.