Elan Videos

Hi, first post, but been lurking since level I…

I’m studying with Elan for Level II. Mixed feelings about it…BUT

I get really really excited at an end of a video when Peter says, “See you guys in the next video, Corporate Finance…”

Then, I open the next video and who is it - Not Peter, it’s Basit. Then I cringe and think, do I or don’t I watch.

If all the videos were with Peter…the time would go by much faster!

As soon as I see Basit, I open my books and skip the videos.

He doesnt teach, he reads to put you to sleep.

I used Schweser for Level I and I thought Holmes was pretty good…

So, the dream team for video lectures would be Olinto and Holmes… At least for me, that would be a more enjoyable watching experience.

However, I am starting to think I would be better served to just read and work questions, since I am starting to think that I do not learn the best through audio/visual. More so of a experiential learner.

I thought Basit did a very good on the videos for pension accounting and swaps.

I am not agreeing with a lot of you here…

I like Basit’s videos. (somewhat more than Peter’s)

The only problem is that the lectures of both are little slow and lengthy.

I overcome it by increasing speed on my player to 1.5 (4 hour video finishes in little over 2.5 hours)

I do not agree that he “just” reads the notes.

Basit is more methodical and his lectures can be long (the derivations of equations he occasionally does is probably too much), but if you’ve got the patience you’ll learn the topic. He’s a good teacher.

Olinto is tough to compete with.

How do you increase the speed on your player? Can you do that on the online videos???

I definitely agree on the Slow and Lengthy!!

not on online videos… i think if you have usb videos, you would be able to increase…