Engineer going for a CFA. What are my chances?

Hello All,

Ive just registered for the december level 1 exam, but having asked around, everyone says that my chances of passing are very low since I lack the proper background.

Ive started studying on the 1st of June using Schweser notes, and so far completed economics which I found really hard. FRA seems much easier till now.

What do you think my chances are? Is it foolish of me to think tha tI can pass all exams?

I am also an engineering, but i have my master’s degree in finance. it does help a lot.

If you don’t have any finance fundamentals whatsoever some of the topics will be challenging.

But i would say it really depends how you study and how much you want to pass.

Lv 1 is doable for everyone as they provided detailed enough materials even for a person who is completely new to the curriculum . In my opinion what separates people who pass and fail is effort not background. However it will be much easier for someone who possess prior knowledge to the material.

Why oh why does someone want to go from a respected and highly demanded profession into finance where opportunities are few and far between and are declining all the time. I will never understand it.

we undervalue what we have, we overvalue what we dont have…Finance is the most expanding and evergreen field in the globe

keep going my friend, people always talk and thats what they can do at best…many discouraged me before entering the CFA program because I didn’t know a dime about finance but I entered to prove them all wrong…and here I am, waiting for level 3 results :slight_smile:

I like this debate. I happen to agree with Optimist not because of the positive nature of his name, but because of my first hand experience in the finance world. I am, however, curious to hear the reasoning behind Geo’s pronouncement.

chances of passing exams are just fine, there’s no rocket science here and the books are in plain english.