Engineer's for CFA-- Please stand up!!

Hi, All I am a guy in a huge Dilemma. I graduated last year with a very good undergraduate record in engineering and with that landed myself a nice engineering job. BUT-- I hate it. I much rather look at the stock markets all day and study them. I get more happiness from that. Hence I want to make a career shift. I am 22 years old and am determined to obtain the CFA designation. I want to know if there are any engineers who have done the same and who have advice of what route to follow. I want to register for the Level 1 2008 December exams. PLEASE HELP!!!

Sigh. I think you should try to find happiness in your engineering profession first.

I don’t see how you can go through 4 years of engineering classes (which I assume you enjoyed) and then a couple months out of school decide it’s not the career path for you?

get yuor PE. you’ll love it

I"m one of them. I didn’t enjoy the 4 years of engineering : ( I just passed Level 1 and so far I’m getting no calls for any entry level jobs. Seems like 3.1 GPA in engineering isn’t good enough : ( Its ok, i have high hopes and passion like that of kevin garnett.

Been there, done that. Network network network. That’s how I got my finance job after designing positive displacement blowers and compressors. Once you Excel, you’ll never AutoCAD.

engineering degree here, doing consulting work now, probably (hopefully) going to business school in a year or two, on level 3. its tough to crack finance with this “non-traditional” background without the MBA. ps I hated my classes, still not sure why I didn’t change majors to Commerce.