Equity Analysis vs Investment Banking

I am currently a valuation analyst and value closely held entities for various reasons (pre-ipo, estate tax, gifting, etc…). I am working on my CFA and have almost completed my ASA requirements (aside from the experience requirement). Does anyone have any input on the applicability of my current valuation analysis skills towards equity analysis or investment banking? I’m considering these two fields and I want to pursue opportunities I feel I could apply what I have learned here at my current employer.

My experience has been that if you didn’t take an analyst position out of undergraduate or go to a top-tier MBA program you’ll have little success getting into an IBank. I have several years in an M&A / Strategic Finance group at strong companies plus a top part-time MBA and I’m not really getting anywhere; you might have better credentials than I though. My bosses both went to Wharton and are both ex-bankers (Stephens and Solomon Brothers) I believe and they apparently had no difficulty so I guess that’s the difference: Wharton vs. Robinson.

You could join a ibank but it may be a middle market bank. I know of several people from your background that make the jump. I would opt for a MM bank anyway…closer to deal and better exp to make switch to PE