Equity Research Assistant

Hello, I am trying to obtain a position as an equity research assistant but I am getting no where fast with my job search. I am currently using indeed.com to find and apply for positions. Is there a better method? I worked in public accounting for 2 years and have 2 undergrad degrees with majors in accounting, finance, economics, and statistics. I am a licensed CPA in CA and I passed level I of the CFA program. My undergrad degrees are from the U of Minnesota. I recognize that all this is secondary to experience but how do I break into the industry? Am I completely out of my league in trying to get a research assistant position with my background? Are there just not enough of these jobs available right now? Should I consider IB in the meantime? Or should I just go back to public accounting? Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

What city?

Hi Hank, thanks for the reply. I’m not focusing on any one city. I basically will move where ever there is a position. In my cover letters, I just state that I am willing to interview as a local candidate. I’m living in Green Bay, WI right now. Cities I’m familiar with include: Minneapolis (went to school there), San Francisco (worked at a big-four firm there), Chicago (family there), Milwaukee (closest city).

A better method would be to tap into your alumni network, and also use LinkedIn to get some informational interviews and introductions to prospective employers. You might also need to do a better job tailoring your resume to what someone in IB/research would look for, versus just having it as a laundry list of various responsibilities you may have had in accounting. However, even so, getting into equity research is a tough proposition right now (and investment banking will be even more difficult). Just realize this is a function of the rough economy and don’t be too discouraged if you can’t find hiring opportunities, even once you’ve exhausted all the common channels.