Equity Research is not supposed to bring in the money?

I am a student in Finance and I don’t have experience in the industry yet. We read a lot of research articles such as from the Journal of Finance. I understand some things like there is no skill at stock picking for portfolio managers and hedge fund managers, however during some short time a manager can outperform the market, but it lasts so long until he starts managing more money, then he stops generating meaningful alpha. But what about Equity Research analysts? I think there is a general consensus that financial markets are believed to be semi-efficient. Also, accroding to Efficient Market Hypothesis, in semi-eficcient markets it’s impossible to predict future price by studying publicly availabale data no matter how hard you try. But isn’t it a job of Equity Research guys to predict future price? If so, then according to academicians, those analysts get paid but give random results, no?

^Shhh! It’s the elephant in the room! You’re not supposed to say it!

If you admit that any idiot in the world can do your job, how are you supposed to make millions doing it?

*ducks and runs away from artillery fire*

Haha, but I expected to hear some arguments that, you know, analysts build some models that must work, or give more or less accurate predictions at least on average. Otherwise I can’t imagine someone doing all this work day to day knowing it doesn’t have any meaning. But I guess, commenting on my own starting post, doing fundamental analysis on small stocks makes perfect sense, because the analyst coverage is not the same as for big stocks, and you can spot some mispricing.

See the Grossman-Stiglitz Paradox.