estimating beta and determining projected beta

Did you learn this section in reading 45 in CFA notes? It is kinda complicated. Do you think we need to nail it?

Sigh yes…I did. If you compare CFA vs Schweser you’ll realise Schweser has skipped it in entirety…not sure if it needs to be nailed though. For what it’s worth, I studied the damn thing in pure shock…

BETA = (covar A,B)/VAR b COVAR = sum (x- x avg)(y - y avg) / [t - 1] var = st dev ^ 2

He’s talking about the pureplay bit daj…it’s defi not the happiest of topics,unlevering, relevering ugh!! Think you’ve got SML on your mind… :stuck_out_tongue:

I never saw it in tests, but if it ends up in the exam is all fair game. That pure play method is not optional reading.

map1 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I never saw it in tests, but if it ends up in the > exam is all fair game. That pure play method is > not optional reading. I just saw it once in one test from 7city. However if you have time, it is always good to know.

beta is a good concept and a great question for the CFA exam think about it, they give you a chart with covar and std. deviation and ask you for beta you would have to square the std. deviation then divide COVAR by it. Perfect 2 step exam question.

oh, relelver and unlevering. ya, that will probably be on the test just pick a comp group, unlever it, then relever a beta for the stock you are looking at. Ba = Be/[1+ + (1-t)(d/e)] d/e will be given to you but if not, you can back into it. I fogot the way, but it is not hard.

this makes me a little nervous. Your right that they just completely skipped this LOS (45i. calculate and interpret the beta and cost of capital for a project). is there many other LOSs that schweser has skipped??? Given the rumours of making the exam anti schweser thats one example of being able to do that!