Ethics- Duties to employers

Say I’m a research analyst and I’d like to get a part time job at Burger King flipping burgers for 2 hours every other day. Do I have to tell my employer?

Absolutely, as it could effect your ability to function in your day job and deprive your employer of your skills and attention, even though it has nothing to do with investing.

no unless the time are same.

not because of the type of job, but if 2 hours away from your job every other day will have a significant negative impact on your ability to complete your job duties, then I would say yes, you need to inform your employer for that reason.

What if he covers Burger King? What then?

I don’t believe so. No competition with their business. If it was 6hrs every night, you would be violating your loyalty to your employer by potentially being overtired for work.

mcf Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Absolutely, as it could effect your ability to > function in your day job and deprive your employer > of your skills and attention, even though it has > nothing to do with investing. This isn’t quite right. That would violate your loyalty to your employer, but it does not fall under additional compensation arrangements that conflict with your main employer’s business, so no disclosure is necessary imo. There’s a Schweser Book 6 question like this.

the issue to me is not additional compensation. its simply time spent away from your job. cube assumes its not going to really impact the workers job, but if the worker leaves from 2-4 during market close and this has a significantly negative impact on your work, you have a duty to inform your employer. if the 2 hours does not impact the persons ability to do their job, you are right cube imho.