ethics: rules and in practice.

and…in ethics they ve listed a gazillion rules right? so how is it in real life? how different is reality than rules? i mean in pakistan rules are so different than practice. there is so much bribery here in pakistan…so if you dont report it they kick you out of the cfa thingy? i mean they ve said dont even wine and dine (we dont wine any way) at a client’s. right? and in pakistan the client bribes and gives dinners and shite? so if you dont report it or drink some tea at a client…they kick u out of cfa charter? i feel like an idiot asking this. but i am a layman when it comes to the actual thing. i might know fra but know nothing about how things are in practice. how strictly do they apply the ethics rules? cuz in my country they dont give a shite about rules. which is sad. i think it is different in different countries. i think in more developed countries the rules governing financial markets are stricter.

My friend, wine and dine of significant value is not allowed but many times these significant things are overlooked and named as ‘courtesy’, no one in Saudi will complain about your lavish dinner with the clients even though its not right. In Pakistan, even though bribery is common in society but in well educated and ‘informed’ and professional market people ADHERE TO CFA Ethics and YES CFA Rules apply in Pakistan and it is VERY probable that someone (another employee or employer or company will complain about you. So Pakistani finance professionals will surely catch someone who violates standards and expect them to complain about that behavior.

When I look at this exchange, it makes me proud to see that the value of the ethics piece is respected across the world by my other CFA comrades. I truly believe that internal enforcement by each and every candidate, charterholder and member is key to the long-term survival and prospering of this program.