exam fee

Having done my CFA and FRM, I am sort of interested in taking the exam in the future. I checked out the fees and found out that the program is, for a guy who has no corporate sponsorship, quite expensive, and the annual membership fee, once chartered, is pretty pricey too, compared with that of the CFA and FRM. I do not understand why CAIAA chooses to segment the markets by giving 25% discount to AIMA/CISDM companies – the members who probably do not care about the discount anyway. The pricing kind of sends out a signal that CAIAA probably does not want to attact too many college students or people who are not currently working in the industry, right? People who are outside might be more likely to pay for a higher ticket price than those who have already got in? Going forward, with the hedge funds hammered and the sword of regulation hanging around, how do you make of this charter? Thoughts?

1 Like

I haven’t really put a lot of thought into it, I am studying for CFA-L1 in June, but overall the CAIA can be many things to many people. One thing that a lot of people on this forum agree on is that it is not your golden ticket inside a hedge fund. For me the CAIA is a great supplementary based knowledge I can take with me across job functions. A lot of people on this forum who already have FRM & CAIA say they don’t even use the letters/pay the dues. It’s interesting for sure. What are your reasons for wanting to take another test?

1 Like