Exam Takers - Non-Finance Background how many?

I am curious to know how many of you who took exam in December (last week) are from Non-Finance background and doing the CFA as a passion or for a carrer change? I am from a technical background and working as a Senior Web Developer and I am in 30’s and own a small business and an active investor in stock market enrolled in CFA program because I want to learn more about in finance. I started studying around six months before the exam and did it very seriously. Initially i struggled a lot in economics and quants sections because of non-finance or accounting background. However i was comfortable in Equity, portfolio management and derivatives and alternative sections because i was a active reader in stock options and stock market for last 3 years. I am feeling confident but very nervous about my results and hoping to pass (I spent huge amount of time in studying for the exam) Good luck all!!!.

Hi CareerThruCFA, I am currently in my final year of undergrad engineering. No finance background, except from an engineering econ course I took in third year. I am taking the CFA this June to aid my switch into finance and to increase my knowledge. Asset classes are a breeze , but I havent touched FSA or econ. yet, so havent really met the main beast. Goodluck mate.

Graduated from eletrical engineering. Only formal business background: -1 engineering economics class (no actual economics, but we did do the basics of finance and accouting that are covered in the CFA curriculum, plus I think our teacher was a CFA holder also), -1 marketing course -entrepreneuship seminars Non-formal: 20 years of reading my dad’s Businessweek magazines (since I was a kid…) over a dozen books read on personal finance, popular economics, selling, etc.

I used to blow sh!t up with a 30mm cannon.