Failed with band 10

First let me introduce myself.

I am currently a 32 year old engineer doing a part-time MBA program in the evenings (4 more classes and I will be done). I want a career in finance and I was/am hoping that passing the CFA exams will help separate me from other MBAs, especially since my professional background isn’t in finance.

Well, I didn’t pass this June. I failed with a band 10 with a poor score in ethics (50>70). I have no idea what happned here…I consistenty scored in the 80-85 range on ethics on practice exams.

I won’t lie, I put in around 250 of solid studying for this exam.

For those that have passed all three exams, am I wasting my time if I continue? Or should I be able to pass considering that I was so close on my first attempt?

Keep in mind, I do not have a finance/accounting background or undergraduate degree, but I have had some of these classes in my MBA program and done well in them.

Please be honest and straight forward with your responses.

Thanks.

Hi LongBoarder

We’re in the same boat. I have a finance/econ/bus background and studied for 3.5 months while working full time in the banking industry.

Look at my thread (Failed with band 10, now what?)

I was really disappointed not to pass, as I never failed any exam in my life. And that was harsh.

But we are SO close that I think we both should keep trying and not being discouraged.

I have faith in you. Good luck.

Ethics is VERY important in Level 1. As you may know, not only does it make up for a decent chunk of the exam, it can push you from FAIL to PASS if you do well on that section while your score is borderline. I’d say, for a band 10, you were probably a couple of Ethics questions away from passing.

Ethics is more about reading between the fine lines. Some people can pick out the subtle points better than others. It is a matter of reading comprehension and practice. Do as many ethics questions as possible (mock exams, practice exams, Qbank) whatever it is.