Failed!

I failed the June 2012 CFA level I exam with a bandscore of 5. I only had one topic that I scored above 70 percent in (Alternative Investments) and five topics that I scored below 50% in (Derivatives, FR&A, Fixed Income, PM, and QM). I’m so disappointed because I know I studied over the minimum 300 hours and even took two preparation courses for the exam and still failed. With these results, should I even bother retaking the exam and further pursuing the designation?

P.S. Congrats to all those who passed!

If I were in your shoes damn right I would retake it. You can pass it…just keep grinding. Figure out what works for you to retain the material and go with it. After three attempts maybe you look other places…but for now go for it!!

Pokerface. I’m in your exact camp. I’m so disappointed. I can’t complain though because I learned alot. But what are my realistic chances of jumping 5 bands and passing by december? I was thinking of just doing CAIA since I work for a Fund of Funds firm anyways. I’m kicking myself right now bro.

I put my heart and soul into it too. Of course the only section I scored over 70% is AI. I bombed FRA and Quants and Econ.

Look at it this way, you’ve now got a 300+ hr head start on everybody else writing in Dec

I failed Band 5 last June, and passed in Dec, so yes, retake it in Dec while you still have momentum.

gentlemen,

i feel your grief. I’ve been sick last few days and today opened my e-mail to find that I failed as well. I’m in the 7 bandscore.

honestly, if the CFA was easy everyone and their mom, their cat, and their dogs would have one. this is the time to grit your teeth and push forward I think. At least now you know where you need to improve on and focus on those sections.

Just to put it in perspective for you.

1st attempt) I failed Band 4 directly out of undergrad with basic studying (Dec 2010)

2nd attempt) I failed Band 7 with 300 hours but only 3 practice exams (Dec 2011)