feel like i'm wasting time....

any input/suggestions on this…here’s a little background of me. i’m series 7/66 since 2004. i am a financial consultant at a major regional bank. i basically sell cd’s mm’s, mutual funds, fixed & variable annuites for clients, and have a strong understand of loans, interest, investments, annuities, etc… i just decided to embark into the CFA program a few months back and sit for level 1 in dec. i paid my dues and recieved my CFA curriculum last friday. i blew through the first readings on ethics and GIPS. i’m talking like 175 pages in four days and felt i understood it pretty well and was interested the whole time… now, i’m on the time value of money, (roughly page 175 of the first reading) and feel like i’m hitting a huge sticking point. the main prob i’m having now is computing FV and discounted PV given a certain rate, period, and compounding periods on the HP 12c. i now have to study the way this calculator works and how to input the data correctly to get the right answer and i feel like i’m not busting out the material like i was…anybody else remember running into this “sticking point” and if so, how did you best overcome it??

read the manual. if you spend enough time with the manual, calculations will not be a problem. i have a baii, but i heard the hp12c manual is really good.

I would spend time to understand the calculator…then you wont run into issues. It will help to learn to use the various sheets as life will be easier on problems… If u can find someone who knows that calc, even better

I had the same problem with the calculator, I spend 30 minutes and its pretty easy my friend.

Drop the HP 12-C and get the TIBAII pronto. If you were born in the late sevties or eighties it will be much intuitive to use because it works similar to the calculators we grew up using in grade school, HS, etc. Reverse polish notation suck IMO. Some people swear by it, I hate it.