Feeling good until.....

FCFE and FCFF…good lord. Especially the end of reading questions in the CFAI book. Can anyone impart some wisdom on myself and the others; something to make this section a little more manageable. cpk, you are encouraged to continue your dominance here…

What exactly is your question? I’m fairly decent in this arena…FCFF is what cash is generated for the entire benefit of the firm, whereas FCFE is the cash generated after FCFF is reduced by debt payments. I do this for a living, so I could probably answer whatever questions you might have, so just let me know.

I almost puked a couple days ago when I reviewed that SS, just couldnt get the formulas in my head. Then, after a day of staring at them, talking thru them, and writing them a couple of times it clicked. Once you know those formulas the rest is just like the previous section on GGMs, valuation isn’t too bad. There is no way around it, you need to know those formulas before you can do anything. swear…breathe…refocus… FCFF=NI+NCC+(Int*(1-tax rate))-FCInv-WCInv…like riding a bike…you can do it

I’d actually disagree with that, tvPM - of course I’m biased as I do this countless times a day, but I actually don’t know any of the Schweser formulas - just think of what transactions actually influence cash generation or burn off of the financial statements and you can solve any of the problems, even if you forget the formulas on exam day. I wouldn’t recommend trying to memorize all fifteen or so of those formulas - just know the basic concepts and you’re fine; however, to each his/her own.

Those formulas are hard? Have you guys gone through FI and derivatives by any chance?