Financial Advisor at MSSB looking to get into PM

Hey guys. I am new to the forum. Pleasure to meet you all. I have been a broker at Morgan for about a year and I am debating making to switch into equity research and eventually PM. It truly is my passion. Would it make sense for me to take CFA level 1 in December, assuming June is a little to late for me, so that I can transition into research easier or would it be smarter to get a position first? Keep in mind, I am in Philadelphia. The job opportunities are a little more rare to a NYC and I don’t want to relocate.

You’re better off posting this on the ‘General Discussion’ board Alan. Lots of wise heads on there…

I posted there. Thank you for the advice.

Hey there. I noticed you were taking a lot of flack on your other posting and wanted to add some actual encouragement and advice. I’m in a similar boat. I’m a credit analyst for a hospital but am transitioning back to ER. I graduated recently too and took a job I had better hoped would leverage me into the ER field. If you’re serious about getting into ER I would definitely take the CFA in December. I would also become an active member in your local chapter (Philly Society) and try to network through there as well. A lot of jobs are posted through local CFA societies so that’s a great start, which you can join immediately after registering and becoming a Level I candidate. I would also consider returning to school to get your MBA, ideally one that has a Student Managed Investment Fund. The more experience and networking opportunities you can get, the better your chances are to succeeding in this competitive field. Best of luck next December for ya.

Haha, thank you. Finally someone nice and with positive advice. I don’t understand how some of these people say that CFA is easy and it doesn’t mean anything. Regardless, I hope you have a good transition back in. I’m sure if you want it, you’ll get it. I guess it’s time to sign up and buy study material haha.