Financial Modeling Help?

I don’t have much experience with financial modeling and was wondering if there are any ways to get better? Besides what I have learned in the level 2 curriculum, I’m self taught and try to build my own models at work to help with the research and analysis I do on companies. I’ve read quite a bit of material and watched videos on it, but I feel like they always leave something out. I get the basic concepts and how you you create them, but without being around people who know more than me (no one in my department has modeling skills), I’m not really sure if I’m making mistakes or not. I’d like to become very proficient at modeling so I can add it to my resume. Any suggestions on how to get better?

There are financial courses you can buy. I’m used a free website called Macabacus. They have an operating, merger, and LBO model and step by step instructions on how to build each.

I think the best way to learn financial modeling is to find a good model and then re-create it from scratch.

I just looked at macabacus’ operating model and I definitely need to do a bit more reading… My financial statement modeling is a bit simpler than the one I saw on there.

all you need is

EBIT

tax rate

CapEx

Change in NetWorkingCapital

depreciation/amortization

calc FCF and discount back.

disco time

So what I do is I project out all 3 of the financial statements, link specific line items to in my projections (please tell me if this is bad) to my DCF model to calculate FCF and discount them back. I don’t really go into as much detail like the operating model on macabacus does with the debt schedule, or deprecation schedule. Is that too little?