Fixed Income - Interest Rate risk

Can someone please explain the statement below. This is related to risks associated with Investing in Bonds. When interest rates rise, bond values fall. I am new to finance and am studying Fixed Income for Dec 08 Level 1. Thanks, Preeti

my suggestion to you is to go to the cfai books if you need some basic understanding. that is a really basic concept and the book will explain it.

THis is a VERY critical concept that you need to understand 100% I’ll try to expalin with an example. If I issue a bond for $1000 and the coupon rate is 7% and the interest rate is 7%, than you’ll pay 1000 for the bond because coupon rate is the same as market. Now lets say I have a $1,000 bond and the coupon rate is 6% but the market interest rate is 7%. This means if you buy my bond, you’ll make less money in interest than if you were to buy a bond in the open market. Therefore, I would sell my bond to you at a discount to compensate. THe same goes for the opposite, if my coupon rate is higher than the market interest rate, you would be willing to pay more for my bond because you make more in interest. Thus, bond price and interest rates are inversely related. Make sure you understand this. If interest rates go down, bond prices go up and vice versa.