Flip over poison pill, how does it really work?

By definition, it says that it gives the shareholders of the target firm an option to purchase the acquiring company’s shares at a discount price, and this move will dilute the acquiring company’s shares and thus makes the takeover more unfavorable.

Why would any shareholders of the acquiring firm agree to sell their shares at a discount price to the target company’s shareholders? And if no new shares are issued, how could this dilute the acquiring firm’s shares?

If the new shares are issued and sold to the target company’s shareholders, yes it will dilute the shares, but…I mean why would the acquiring company do such things? To make its own takeover attempt harder? It doesn’t make any sense to me…

Could someone enlighten me?

Greetings friend! It’s been a while since I was a corporate attorney, but I will give it a go with a general description. I also defer to others who have dealt with this topic more recently than me, of course.

A poison pill is a defense mechanism against future hostile takeovers that a company builds into its own shareholders’ agreement or shareholders’ rights plan, etc. In the typical case, lawyers draft language into these documents that give a company a right to issue more shares at a discount (in the case of a poison pill) to its existing shareholders in the event a hostile takeover bid is submitted to the company’s board of directors. The acquirer is not allowed to participate in this discount share purchase, they are outside looking in.