For the Lawyers

For the lawyers out there who are thinking about taking the CFA exam, I thought I would quickly share my impressions having just finished the Level 1 exam. 1. Experience. For someone like myself without any background in accounting or finance, the CFA is an eye opening experience. As a corporate lawyer, I deal with financial terms and concepts all the time, but would only understand them enough to be able to effectively handle the legal side of things. Even after taking just the Level 1, I feel like I have a much richer understanding of financial statements, debt instruments, derivative products, etc. The coursework is particularly effective at developing fluency in financial statements, which is tested at a deeper level in Level 1 than some of the other concepts. 2. Difficulty Level. I am still waiting for my test result, but can give you my impression so far. The amount of material is roughly equivalent to what you review for a bar exam. The challenge for the lawyer is that unlike the bar, you won’t have seen most of this information before and thus are learning it for the first time. I had not taken a quantitative class since high school (god bless the liberal arts education), so I found the quantitative methods section the most challenging. It makes sense to start there first though, because you continue to apply these skills through the remainder of the program. The materials and practice tests tend to be rather computational - the actual exam was not. As others have noted, the exam problems are more conceptual in nature and there is very little number crunching. To illustrate what I mean, if a formula is A - B = C, the question would ask you to determine what happens to C if B were to increase, but you would not have to perform an actual calculation. Thus, like the bar, if you have done a good job memorizing the material, the actual application is not that challenging. You will also have a natural leg up on the ethics questions, which are easi