For those who failed and then triumphed

I am looking to get a little perspective from people who failed last year and passed this year (I know there are a few posts out here already)

Specifically, want to hear from people who put in the time, did the old mock exams, did the practice questions, scored well in practice. Just didn’t get the result on exam day

How did you change your approach (if at all) the second time, did you take a good size break before starting to study again? What do you feel put you over the edge?

Failed band 7 - Thinking about just reading secret sauce once a month to keep the concepts fresh without doing any studying until around January.

I failed last year band 8. I didn’t pick up a book again until second week of January 2016. In 2015 I studied 235 hours by also starting in January and trying to do about 10 hours per week. I took the same approach in 2016 with a goal of doing about 10 hours per week but some weeks I would get over that by taking a day off work randomly to study, or by getting more hours in on weekends. I ended up doing 280 hours in 2016. Of those 280 hours probably half of them came in the final two months because I had the week before the test off and I was hitting it hard on the holiday weekends.

This year I read CFAI books and did the EOC questions from January through the end of March taking it a book at a time. I still had to use Schweser for advanced derivatives materials like Swaptions, effective loan calcs and things like that because I was too dense to understand that stuff using CFAI and really I never learned that stuff to be honest. I used Schweser books from 2014 for that type of material though.